Investor Advisory Committee

Section 911 of the Dodd-Frank Act established the new Investor Advisory Committee to advise the Commission on regulatory priorities, the regulation of securities products, trading strategies, fee structures, the effectiveness of disclosure, and on initiatives to protect investor interests and to promote investor confidence and the integrity of the securities marketplace. The Dodd-Frank Act authorizes the committee to submit findings and recommendations for review and consideration by the Commission.

Mary Jo White, SEC Chairman

Recommendations of the Investor Advisory Committee

Other Actions

Committee Members


Kurt Schacht, Chairman
Managing Director, CFA Institute
Anne Sheehan, Vice Chairman
Director of Corporate Governance, California State Teachers' Retirement System
Barbara Roper, Chairman,
Investor as Purchaser Subcommittee
Director of Investor Protection, Consumer Federation of America
Joseph V. Carcello, Chairman, Investor as Owner Subcommittee
Department Head and Professor, University of Tennessee Department of Accounting and Information Management, and Executive Director, University of Tennessee Corporate Governance Center
Matthew Furman, Chairman, Market Structure Subcommittee
Executive Vice President and Group General Counsel, Willis Group
Craig Goettsch, Vice Chairman, Investor as Purchaser Subcommittee
Director of Investor Education and Consumer Outreach, Iowa Insurance Division
Damon Silvers, Vice Chairman, Investor as Owner Subcommittee
Director of Policy and Special Counsel, AFL-CIO


John Coates
John F. Cogan Jr. Professor of Law and Economics at Harvard Law School, and Research Director of the Center on the Legal Profession
Lisa Fairfax
Leroy Sorenson Merrifield Research Professor of Law, and Director of Conference Programs, C-LEAF, The George Washington University Law School
Rick Fleming
Investor Advocate, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
Stephen Holmes
General Partner Emeritus, InterWest Partners
Nancy LeaMond
Executive Vice President, Chief Advocacy & Engagement Officer, Community, State & National Affairs, AARP
William Lee
Senior Vice-President and Chief Investment Officer, New York-Presbyterian Hospital
Hester Peirce
Senior Research Fellow, Mercatus Center at George Mason University
Anne Simpson
Investment Director, Sustainability, CalPERS
Elisse Walter
Former Chairman, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission,
Susan Ferris Wyderko
President and CEO, Mutual Fund Directors Forum